Twitter Madness

April 29, 2009 whitneychilds

I had never heard of twitter before my PRCA 2330 class. My instructor Barbara Nixon asked all of us to join and “follow” her so she would know we were members. The very first time I logged on I thought twitter was the creepiest thing I had ever set eyes on. People just follow you and unlike Facebook or Myspace, you don’t get the opportunity to accept or decline a friend request, you either make your account private or anyone and everyone has access to your page.

Little did our class know, only a few months after we all joined for class participation twitter has quickly become the new cool thing to join. Everywhere you turn someone is referring to twitter, whether it be radio announcers saying you can win free tickets by logging onto twitter to find the answers, or celebrities such as P Diddy, Oprah and Kim Kardashian getting on to promote themselves and gain even more popularity. Also I was watching Miss USA 2009 and the judges said you could check the scores on twitter throughout the night and get updates about the contest.

It’s just crazy the level of technology that has been created to help skyrocket careers and deliver news instantly and efficiently.

I was watching the season finale of Making the Band 4 and P Diddy said at the end to make sure to add him and Dawn Richards to show support towards her solo career.

I have to admit I get on twitter more than I used to but I just don’t know how it became this huge phenomenon overnight.

Entry Filed under: personal

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
